Skip to content


Spam of the Day: WifiNt Domain Spam

Today in Spam: Hannah from Wifint.cn who write to tell me that Robert Jiang wants to register .cn/.com.cn/.hk/.asia and other domain names which are similar to a .com I own.

Dear Sir/Madam

We are a internet service (software development, website design and development, wifi network works to promote the protection of brands, search engine optimization, etc.) company in China,

Several days ago we received a formal application submited by Robert Jiang who wanted to use the keyword “keyword” to register the Internet Brand and with

suffix .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial checking through Internet , we found that the keyword “keyword” to be applied for registration is same as your keyword.Accordingly,before we finish his registration,we would like to get your final decision about this,whether you mind his registration,if you believe his registration would affect your bussiness and produce conflict,then we could give your priority to register them,as the keyword is first used by your company.However,if you do not think so,please advise of that and then we will finish his registration.

For proceeding the next step, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible. Under the circumstance of no your reply during the next 5 working days ,we will consider you to give it up and finish his registration.

Yours sincerely

Hannah

Checking Department
Tel: 86 513 85330968
Fax: 86 513 80260106
Email:Hannah@wifint.cn
Website: www.wifint.cn

Nice try Hannah but I call your bluff. There is no way that somebody wants that domain name and for sure are you not allowed to display names of a potential buyer. And no, I do not want you to “take action” and send me a bill for “your work avoiding some third party” to register a domain name.
If you get an email like that, just delete it. This will not harm you.

Popularity: 2% [?]

Related Posts

Posted in News, Research, Security.

Tagged with , , , , .


4 Responses

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Genny says

    Yup, I just got one of these too. Although it’s better written then some, definitely reeks of spam.

Continuing the Discussion

  1. Domainers Magazine linked to this post on 5. October 2009

    RT @cocaman new blog post: Spam of the Day: WifiNt Domain Spam http://bit.ly/DH3Xx

  2. Corsin Camichel linked to this post on 5. October 2009

    new blog post: Spam of the Day: WifiNt Domain Spam http://bit.ly/DH3Xx

  3. Tweets that mention Spam of the Day: WifiNt Domain Spam – Geekness - closer to the world -- Topsy.com linked to this post on 6. October 2009

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Domainers Magazine. Domainers Magazine said: RT @cocaman new blog post: Spam of the Day: WifiNt Domain Spam http://bit.ly/DH3Xx [...]